Child pages
  • How To Delete Your Content
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

If you would like to securely delete the content follow the steps below. If you are not concerned about the content and would like the service as a whole to be deleted, then skip to the "Delete Service" section of this article.

There are a few options for deleting the content on your VPS or Dedicated Server. You can rewrite the data on your server with zeros, which is the quickest and most secure method, or you can rewrite the server with random characters. The second options will be more secure in the long run, but it can take up to ten times longer to complete. This method will ensure sure that your content is not recoverable, even after deleting the VM or reformatting the disks on your Dedicated Server.

How To Securely Delete Your Content

We will provide a two different methods of erasing your data.

  1. Write zeros (quickest method)
  2. Write random characters (more secure)

In order to accomplish the deletion, you will need to boot the VPS or Dedicated Server into recovery mode, a CentOS environment. To do so, follow the steps below:

SSD VPS or Cloud Servers:

  1. Log into https://console.100tb.com.
  2. Navigate to either "SSD VPS" or "Cloud Servers" from the left hand menu.
  3. Select the VPS you would like to work with so that it is highlighted.
  4. Click "View" at the top.
  5. Click "Recovery Reboot".

Once the server finishes rebooting, you will have complete internet/SSH access to the server. The login details will be listed in your console account on the "View" page.

Dedicated Server:

Please contact support to have us boot your server into a CentOS Recovery. If you have access to IPMI you are welcome to do this from your end. If you need assistance connecting to IPMI, please follow the directions found in this article.

Please follow the steps below to securely delete your content:

Note that this step is optional. If you would like to see a progress bar, or something to reference how much of the disk has been erased, you can install PV (Pipe Viewer). To install PV, run the command below:

rpm -i http://mirror.airenetworks.es/epel/6/x86_64/Packages/p/pv-1.1.4-3.el6.x86_64.rpm

After PV is installed, you will need to find the name of your disks. To find the name of your disks, run the command below:

lsblk

This command will output a list of drives and partitions. The drive you are looking for will look like this:

NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOIN
vda 253:0 0 25G 0 disk

Write Zeros:

This first method will show you how to write zeros over all of your content. This is a secure method, but not the most secure. If you want to make sure your content is gone, you will want to use the random write method below.

If you chose not to install PV, please run the command below:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/%hd% bs=1M

Replace %hd% with the name of the partition or drive. In the example above, it would be vda.

This method will not show progress if you aren't using PV. You will have to wait for the command to finish running, which can take anywhere from a few minutes to several hours. Time spent running this command is based on the size of your drive.

If you installed PV, use the command below:

dd if=/dev/zero | pv | dd of=/dev/%hd% bs=1M

Replace %hd% with the name of your drive.

Write Random Characters:

This method is the exact same process as above. The only difference is we will change /dev/zero to /dev/urandom.

If you chose not to install PV, please use the command below:

dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/%hd% bs=1M

If you installed PV, use this command:

dd if=/dev/urandom | pv | dd of=/dev/%hd% bs=1M

After running the command with PV, the server will give you an output of how much data has been written over with zeros or random data and how much total time has elapsed. Once this is complete, you can now delete the VPS or submit a cancellation request for your Dedicated Server. To do this follow the steps in the next section.

Delete Service

If you would like to delete your service completely, you will need to follow the steps below:

Dedicated Servers:

To submit a cancellation request for your dedicated server, please follow the steps found in this article: Dedicated Server Cancellation.

SSD VPS or Cloud Servers:

  1.  Log into https://console.100tb.com.
  2.  Navigate to either "SSD VPS" or "Cloud Servers" from the left hand menu.
  3.  Select the VPS you would like to delete so that it is highlighted.
  4. Click "Destroy" at the top and confirm that you would like to delete the service.